Life-long Contribution Award

IPA recognizes and honors individuals who have made great contributions to the advancement of the press-in engineering for a long period of time. Contributions may be through scientific research, planning, design, construction, development of machinery and materials, development of innovative application of embedded structures, and leadership in IPA activities.
  • Mr. Akio Kitamura, the president of Giken Ltd. and the honorary president of the International Press-in Association
Mr. Akio Kitamura invented the world’s first Silent Piler, noise and vibration free piling machine in 1975. Through innovation over the last 40 years, considering environmental, spatial, and geological constraints on pile installation, he made the impossible, possible. He also took initiative in the creation of the IPA as international community of the Press-in Engineering.
  • Late Mr. Yasuo Kakiuchi and Mr. Takaharu Kakiuchi, Former and current chairman of the Kakiuchi Ltd.
Late Mr. Yasuo Kakiuchi dedicated to materialize the idea of Silent Piling proposed by Mr. Kitamura in 1970s. Since then he and his successor Mr. Takaharu Kakiuchi have played an essential role of producing a series of Silent Pilers which helped a wide acceptance of Silent Piler in piling works in domestic and overseas projects.
  • Dr. Malcolm David Bolton, Emeritus Professor of the University of Cambridge, Ph.D. and a FREng.
Professor Malcolm David Bolton has contributed to the advancement of the Press-in engineering through various research activities for a long period of time, including Cambridge-Giken collaborative research projects since 1994. He has also contributed to the International Press-in Association as the first President for 10 years since IPA was founded in 2007 at the Churchill College, University of Cambridge.
 Application Details

Awardee: Individual(s)

Individuals with a long-time contribution to various aspects of Press-in Engineering.
The nominee can be in an active position, retired or posthumous.

Award Information:
The Award will be presented at the triennial ICPE (International Conference on Press-in Engineering) by the IPA President.

Submission:        address to IPA Award Committee,
Nomination material:     Nomination material should include a curriculum vitae of the nominee, reasons for nomination and nomination form(Download nomination form here)

Total volume of the materials is limited to 25 pages in A4 paper size and they should be prepared in English using Century 11 or Times New Roman 11 font.

Dead line:           31st July 2018